Buffalo Niagara Community Tennis Association

» Main

Marsh Cup 2018

Buffalo vs. Rochester, Syracuse and Toronto

June 9th and 10th
Tennis Club of Rochester, Pittsford

Represent your home town in the
65th Annual
Marsh Cup Tennis Tournament



Rules & Regulations

What: Marsh Cup is an annual tennis tournament held every June since 1953 with teams competing from four cities: Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and Toronto.
Where: The four cities involved rotate as host.
When: In 2018, the host city is Rochester and the tournament is June 9th and 10th.
Surface: The tournament is played on clay or har-tru courts.
Format: There are 17 age and level divisions:
Men’s Open Singles (2) and Doubles
Men’s 35 Singles (2) and Doubles
Men’s 45 Singles and Doubles
Men’s 55 Doubles
Men’s 65 Doubles
Women’s Open Singles (2) and Doubles
Women’s 35 Singles
Women’s 35 Doubles
Women’s 50 Doubles
Mixed Open
One point is awarded for each match won. Teams win by accumulating the most points. Each team plays two matches every year. 9 points are needed to win.


Can I play?  Players are usually USTA rated 4.0 and above.  A challenge system is in place to earn a spot on the Buffalo team and works like this: 

1. Call team captain and say “I am interested in playing in this particular division.” Player challenges end May 1, 2018.
2. Team Captain will set up challenge matches among all parties that are interested in the same division.  You may challenge for multiple divisions however due to time constraints you may only play two events: one singles and one doubles or two doubles if one is mixed doubles.
3. After all challenge matches are played, team captain announces the members of the Buffalo Team and who will play in each of the 17 divisions.

Maria Lapetina (716) 913-4278